Plan of action

18 Aug

So, in a move typical to me and my Type A personality, I am putting forward a plan of action to try and pull myself out of this slump. Here goes:

1. Continue with some sort of significant exercise every other day. This will include gym workouts, yoga and lunchtime Zumba once per week. Fun! I have been trying to find a personal trainer, but to no avail so far.

2. Keep a food diary for the next couple of weeks. I am going to do my best not to judge myself for what or how much I am eating. But I would like to keep track of my eating habits, so I get get a sense of what I’ve been putting in my mouth. I will not count calories or follow any iron clad rules.

3. See a nutritionist. Appointment booked for August 31st. See if I can tweak my (already healthy) eating habits in a way that feels sustainable for me.

4. Continue cooking and eating at home as much as possible. Eat lots of fruits and veggies.

5. Avoid the scale. Pretend it doesn’t exist. Just gauge my progress by how I am feeling and how my clothes are fitting.

6. Keep going to therapy. I love my therapist. Try and honour the fact that I have been through significant trauma and stress over the last year. Not to mention the hormonal experimentation associated with IVF. I am not a super-human. Merely human.

7. Allow for the possibility that I may need to postpone the next attempt if I am still not feeling emotionally solid.

8. Take three weeks off work when we do IVF the second time. Use a combination of sick and vacation leave to give myself space to be emotional and distracted. Treat it like a staycation.

9. Learn how to meditate. I recently bought a package of classes at a yoga studio that offers a meditation course twice a week. In September, I would like to try it out.

10. Walk everywhere. Take my darned bike out of the garage and use it. Enjoy the beautiful weather while it is still here.

And perhaps most importantly of all — love and appreciate my sweet wife and all of our friends and family for supporting me through this. Yesterday was a dark day. Today seems just a little bit brighter.

 

2 Responses to “Plan of action”

  1. cathy August 22, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    good plan, and sounds like you’re enjoying it! that’s the best way to get healthy, is to be doing what you what to do anyway. i lost the most weight in my life while i was living in rome and eating pasta all the time.

    why don’t we all move to italy together? great idea, huh? 😀

    • Queer Femme Mama August 22, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

      Perfect idea. Clearly this is the answer to all of our problems.

Leave a Reply

