Fuel

19 Aug

One day into my action plan and I am already feeling better. I thought that the act of writing down what I am eating would make me feel like crap. But so far, I feel great. I am already starting to see patterns in the way I eat (usually a snack every 90 minutes during the work day). I have already started tuning in more to what my body likes to eat more. Last night’s Indian food gave me indigestion so I didn’t have leftovers for lunch today. And I chose not to have any wine or beer last night, even though we had it in the house. I just didn’t feel like it. I didn’t want the inevitable headache and I wanted to be well rested enough this morning to go to yoga. Which I did.

This form of intuitive eating really works for me. Rather than strict portion control, I would rather tune into what makes my tummy ache and what makes me feel amazing. Keeping a food diary is reminding me that I tend to eat less vegetables later in the week when it is getting close to grocery day. I eat lots more fruit because fruit tends to be more portable and requires less prep. I rarely make salads because they often go wilty. So I am planning to get back into the habit of making heartier salads on Sunday (coleslaw, tabbouleh, quinoa salad) that will last for most of the week. I am also going to make some bran muffins and hard boil some eggs. Nutritious, portable snacks are always a great idea.

Anyway, I don’t want to become one of those bloggers who obsessively monitors writes about what they eat. Diets and workouts are very boring conversation topics. But being mindful of how food makes me feel and making sure I get the nutrition I need to be active, healthy and sleep well is a positive step that is  fueling my healing process.

One Response to “Fuel”

  1. endoandbeyond August 19, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    hello….just discovered your blog and wanted to say.
    PS – I love hearing what people eat… 🙂

Leave a Reply

