It’s setting in

23 Oct

Wow. Thanks for all of the kind and excited comments. It’s starting to set in that I’m actually pregnant. I’ve also been experiencing some definite symptoms, so I know it’s really happening. I’ve been getting up multiple time in the middle of the night to pee, I am hungry all the time, and I am dead tired by 9 pm. The cramps are still a little disconcerting. While they are different and less acute than menstrual cramps, I don’t have anything else to compare them to. So every time I feel a pulling in my lower back or a pain in my uterus, I need to remind myself that this is what pregnancy feels like.

A sweet friend just confessed to me that she is 7 weeks pregnant, so we are only 3 weeks apart. She made the excellent suggestion that I keep some almonds beside my bed and eat a couple every time I get up to pee in the middle of the night. It totally helped this morning, so I was actually able to get back to sleep after my 4am pee. I was beginning to worry that I would be constantly sleep-deprived at work, if the early morning wake-ups continued.

I am totally off coffee and have switched to lightly brewed green/mint tea in the morning. I am drinking buckets of liquid every day — mostly water, herbal tea and the occasional glass of juice. While I have no intention of counting calories or keeping close track of what I eat, I am trying to eat as many vegetables as I can each day. That plus my prenatal vitamin should keep me healthy and relatively nutritionally balanced during the crucial first trimester.

And after a month of hibernation, I am going to return to the gym today. With winter approaching, exercise is my #1 way to beat the blues. Also, I want to start feeling that this body is powerful and capable again, instead of be worried about every little ache and pain. I will look into prenatal yoga and aquafit during my second trimester, but for now, a light gym workout should suit me just fine.

When my wife and I were first trying to conceive, I was in the midst of my last stressful year of grad school. Now it’s nice to have enough free time to enjoy this time with relatively little stress on top of my day job. I am going to renew my library card, do lots of cooking and make time for dinner parties with friends. My wife has already started a massive purging/home organization project. We’re making room in our home and in our hearts for what is about to come. IT feels amazing.

2 Responses to “It’s setting in”

  1. Hazel Cohen October 23, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    I love this post. xoxo

  2. cathy October 24, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

    so happy.

    and let’s get back to the new normal, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

