On the passage of time

1 Nov

I am five weeks pregnant (or in the midst of my sixth week). We go for our first ultrasound on November 10th — a week from this Thursday. I just want the time to fly, straight through to the New Year, when I will be into my second trimester and feeling more secure. I remember wanting the opposite to be true when my wife and I got married. I wanted everything to slow down, so I could savour every second of the experience with our friends and family.

I am happy to report that I haven’t experienced any morning sickness yet. Which is a good thing, though I somehow think I would feel more secure if I had more clear-cut symptoms. This is what I have been experiencing lately:

  • Peeing a lot, at least once in the middle of the night (which is rare for me).
  • Boobs are definitely sore and bigger. I stuffed myself into a cocktail dress for a wedding on Saturday night and I was quite uncomfortable.
  • Bloated. I know I gained some weight over the last year, but now most of my jeans are tight at the waist and I can’t wait to rip them off at the end of every day.
  • Occasional mild heartburn and gas.
  • Voracious appetite (craving protein, mostly meat).
  • Cramps have largely disappeared, though I do get the occasional mild one.
  • I am pretty wiped out by 9 pm every night.

I have no reason to believe that anything is wrong, I would just like some confirmation that things are going right. As my wife remarked, “pics or it didn’t happen.” I’ll be holding my breath till the end of next week, that’s for sure.

In other news … this happened:

I graduated with my MA on Sunday. One of my dreams came true. I hope the other really big one does too.

One Response to “On the passage of time”

  1. cathy November 2, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    yeah, those are all kind-of symptoms, but the ultrasound is so reassuring!!!

Leave a Reply

