9 weeks (ish)

21 Nov

Depending on what calculation you use, I am somewhere between 8.5 and 9 weeks pregnant right now. I’ll go with the higher number in a not-so-transparent attempt to bring myself closer to the end of the first trimester. I know, it’s all semantics, but it makes me feel better.

This weekend, I got hit with a wave of extreme exhaustion, despite two 10-hour sleeps and a 2-hour nap on Saturday. I have also had some stomach/digestion issues and mild nausea after any big meal. I have managed to keep it under control by eating smaller portions more frequently (well, practically constantly). It seems to be helping. I lasted only about 20 minutes at the gym yesterday, due to some pretty intense gas pains. Guess I need to accept reality and start eating more bran or break out the prunes.

Ugh. Sorry for the TMI update. It’s just that these are the things I’ve been obsessed with lately. I have been a bit socially isolated, due to general exhaustion and a reticence to got to many social events and have to answer the question, “how are you doing?” I am not a good liar and I have already told quite a few people that I am pregnant. I am trying to keep a lid on this fact being broadcast all through my local queer community until at least Christmas, ideally New Year’s. So that’s why I keep willing time to go faster. I know that there is no real “safe” zone during a pregnancy, but the statistics say that the longer you stay pregnant, the more likely that you will end up with a baby at the end of the deal (imagine!).

I am also really struggling with whether or not to do the prenatal testing. A week ago I was at a firm no. Now I am leaning toward yes — mostly because I would really like the opportunity to have a 12-week ultrasound. I know it will be tremendously reassuring to see a fuzzy image of our little zygote. It feels like way too long to wait till 18-20 weeks to see our little blob develop into something more tangible. I am still sitting on a final decision, but that’s where I’m at right now.

I am going to try and break out of my shell and get social again. I’m not gonna lie, there’s been far too much TV-watching lately. My winter hibernation tendency has kicked in big time. I just keep visualizing Chanukah/Christmas, where we will be surrounded by friends and family and excited to share our news. Only a month to go!

2 Responses to “9 weeks (ish)”

  1. cathy November 22, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    i’m pretty well over the exhaustion and boy is it nice to be back in the land of the living! this, too, shall pass. *hug*

  2. Queer Femme Mama November 22, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    I want to nap RIGHT NOW! Around 2:30 pm seems to be the worst. And I sleep 8-10 hours solid every night. Ah well, it’s an encouraging sign. And much more manageable than puking!

Leave a Reply

