Final decision

30 Nov

So I finally made a decision that I am happy with about the IPS testing. I’m not going to do it. I had a great conversation with my doctor and with a handful of close friends. My doctor refused the tests for her own three kids. My friends were divided down the middle. I decided that the only circumstance under which I would terminate the pregnancy is if the fetus had a condition like Trisomy 18 that was incompatible with life. But the chances are extremely low and the diagnostic testing has a high level of false positives.

The majority of babies are born healthy. I am prepared to accept that our child may be born with or develop any number of challenges. For now, I just want to relax and enjoy my pregnancy as much as possible. The IVF process was so invasive and medicalized. I am sick of being diagnosed, poked and prodded. Our next midwife appointment is on December 14th. If we are able to hear the heartbeat on a doppler, I’ll be thrilled. If not, I will request an ultrasound.

In other news, I have had a terrible tension headache for the last few days. My massage therapist theorized that I may be clenching my jaw more due to more intense and frequent dreams. That may have some truth to it. All I know is that my neck and jaw have been all jammed up. Hopefully today’s (brutal) massage session will help loosen things up.

2 Responses to “Final decision”

  1. cathy December 1, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    that headache sounds awful, i hope some tough love will help!

  2. Hazel Cohen December 5, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    Once the relaxin hormone really starts to kick in your neck tension issue should melt away. I had way less tension headaches starting in T2. I had a similar experience to you where my pregnancy was less uncomfortable than my monthly PMS. I can totally see why some women crave to be pregnant again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

