12 weeks!

12 Dec

I am officially 12 weeks pregnant today. I am thankful that so far, my first trimester has flown by relatively uneventfully. Here my current list of random symptoms and body changes:

  • My stomach is definitely bigger, but it still looks pudgy rather than baby bump-like. But I noticed that it is starting to fill in a little around the sides. I am looking forward to it hardening and rounding, so I look pregnant, rather than fleshy and lumpy.
  • I woke up on Saturday morning to discover that a line had popped up on my abdomen. It’s called linea nigra. I knew this would happen eventually, but I didn’t expect it so soon. This certainly gives me a hint that the hormones are doing what they are supposed to do.
  • I am rocking some pretty annoying acne. Different than my usual menstrual spots, somewhat painful, hard to hide. I am hesitant to use any chemical-laden topical treatments, so I guess I just need to wait it out.
  • I am starting to get out of breath, even after a brisk walk. My new mama / midwife friend tells me this is because my body is pumping a lot more blood through my system. It feel strange to be huffing and puffing, especially since I am not anywhere close to waddling yet. But I hear that this is common.
  • I need nine hours of sleep a night and am usually dozing on the couch by 8 pm. The fact that it’s dark after 4:30 pm these days doesn’t help.

I went to my first pre-natal yoga class yesterday. It was pretty hilarious. The class was clearly designed for women who are much more physically encumbered than I am. Most of the floor poses were done on our sides. And the class wasn’t exactly strenuous.  But I bought a 10-class pass and will try to go once a week. I figure it can’t hurt to start doing some modified exercises now.

I hope to start writing some more substantial posts in the new year that aren’t just a listing of symptoms and a litany of complaints. Till then, I am still marveling that I’ve made it to this point. I guess I am finally starting to believe that I’m pregnant.

3 Responses to “12 weeks!”

  1. cathy December 12, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    i get winded doing the simplest things!

  2. gus&otto December 12, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Yay for the 12 week milestone. Hopefully you’ll be feeling more energetic soon!

Leave a Reply

