The waiting game

11 Jun

I will admit that I am incredibly lucky. I am being paid to stay home and wait for this baby to arrive. I can eat what I want and when I want. I can put my feet up or not at all. I have time to fill the freezer with food and catch up with friends. But after two weeks off, I’m getting a little impatient with the anticipation of what’s to come. I am also making Caitlyn a little nuts. You see, our tried and true bed time routine relies on me going upstairs at about 10 pm or so, reading for an hour and falling asleep alone. Caitlyn then gets a couple of hours to read art books and play with music on the computer before going up to sleep around midnight. I am generally asleep by then, so it means she can toss and turn without waking me up.

All of this has changed since I started my leave. My bedtime has crept later and later. Now I am sleeping from about midnight to 8:30 am (with frequent pee breaks, of course). This means that I am still “active” in the house during Cait’s usual chill-out-alone time. This will all change of course when the baby arrives and we throw all schedules out the door. But it represents the beginning of a very different time in our lives, where we will have to learn to adjust to new patterns (or none at all). We are also both getting a bit antsy. As of tomorrow, I will be 38 weeks pregnant. I am secretly hoping that this baby arrives a week early. I think that another week of this lounging/nesting would be great, but two or three more weeks would be a little much. We have everything ready and can’t wait to meet this new little person. I just want her to be here and okay. And then it all begins.

Leave a Reply

