Okay, we’re ready

19 Jun

I am 39 weeks pregnant as of today. That means I am in my 40th week of pregnancy. I could go into labour anytime. This reality set in on Sunday night, when I felt a little crampy. I kept getting up to go to the bathroom and Caitlyn kept asking me if I was having contractions. I couldn’t really tell. Though anyone who has given birth tells me that I will absolutely know when I start experiencing them. Last night I wondered downstairs at midnight to grab a snack. “I just need some crackers,” I called downstairs to her. “You’re having contractions?” she asked. Great hilarity ensured.

I have washed every tiny piece of clothing. The nursery is assembled and it’s darling (photos to follow). I have watched TV with my feet up, weeded the garden, filled the deep freeze with food. I have thanked everyone for their lovely shower gifts. My replacement has been hired at work. I have napped and gone for two massages and a pedicure. We are about to be hit with a crazy heat wave, so I am mostly staying close to home these days. Which means I am quickly starting to get bored. Yes, bored. Delighted to have been able to spend this last part of my pregnancy with my feet up, but ready to get the party started.

It makes me imagine what my grandmother’s life must have been like. Going from working in the family business to suddenly getting married, quitting her job and basically waiting around until she got pregnant. I have no doubt that child-rearing will be a life-changing and profound experience. But the waiting is hard. I find it difficult to imagine what it would have been like for women who were expected to quit their jobs the moment they got pregnant — or even started trying to get knocked up.

I do know once I get through the fog of the first few sleepless weeks, I will need to introduce some structure to my days and weeks at home with the baby. I hope to write, get more involved in community/politics and get back to a regular exercise schedule. I want to find joy and meaning in parenthood, but I also want to take the opportunity to connect more deeply with myself and learn how to function outside of the 9-5 working world. It’s a profound adjustment and one that I don’t take likely.

In the meantime, I am sending subtle and loving eviction notices to the baby currently occupying every inch of my expanded uterus. I know that Caitlyn and I will become Mamas any day now. I can’t wait!

One Response to “Okay, we’re ready”

  1. Janet June 19, 2012 at 8:12 am #

    Getting close!! Thinking of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

